Our Goal

Raise a minimum of $100,000 annually via fundraisers and donations to establish and sustain an academic scholarship in memory of Dr. Ralph J. Bryson for over 59 years of dedicated service as an English professor and department dean at Alabama State University.

Scholarships will be awarded annually during the month of May for the subsequent ASU academic year.

Our Mission

A few “Good Brothers” of Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated endeavor to raise funds for the Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Fund, to be awarded to deserving students who meet certain scholastic requirements and aspire to educate themselves at Alabama State University.

Our Vision

To provide annual scholarships in the name of Dr. Ralph J. Bryson.

About Dr. Bryson

Dr. Ralph J. Bryson graduated from the University of Cincinnati and was initiated into Kappa Alpha Psi Fraternity, Incorporated via the Beta Eta Chapter on December 6, 1946.

Dr. Bryson began his career in education, as a middle school English teacher, in North Carolina. Then he taught at Southern University and at Miles College as a professor of English literature. In 1953, Dr. Bryson embarked on a 59-year tenure at ASU as a professor of English and African American Literature, culminating with his appointment as the Department Chairman before retiring in 2012. Afterwards, he was honored as Professor Emeritus and continued to serve at ASU for several years. In addition, Dr. Bryson was an active supporter of the Montgomery Bus Boycott, working closely with Dr. Martin Luther King, Brother Ralph D. Abernathy, Mrs. Rosa Parks and a host of other civil right activists. He was a long-term serving member of the Dexter King Avenue Baptist Church until his death. 

Scholarship Information and Eligibility

Dr. Ralph J. Bryson

2024 Scholarship Awardees

Alabama State University

Destanie Charles
Planned Major: Pre-MEd GPA: 3.87

Miramar, FL

Jaden Smith
Planned Major: Comp. Science
GPA: 3.96

Memphis, TN

jayden prise
Planned Major: Biology GPA: 4.1

Leesburg, GA

radley porterfield
Planned Major: Computer Science – GPA: 3.94

Montgomery, AL

matthew cook
Planned Major: Biology
GPA: 3.65

Atlanta, GA

Van Vinson
Planned Major: Bus. Administration
GPA: 3.93

Montgomery, AL

The Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Scholarship Fund


The Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Fund awards scholarships to college-bound high school seniors and undergraduate students with an expressed interest in pursuing a higher education at Alabama State University, Montgomery, AL.


The students eligible for assistance must be graduating high school seniors and undergraduate students attending Alabama State University.  Consideration will be given to academic achievement, financial need and the student’s community service record.


Scholarships will be awarded annually no later May 15 and disbursed to Alabama State University to offset students’ academic costs by September 30 of each calendar year.

  1. Applicant must attend and/or be enrolled as a full-time student (minimal of 12 academic course hours) at Alabama State University at the start of the academic year starting in the month of August. NON-TRANSFERABLE.
  2. Applicant must have a cumulative Grade Point Average (GPA) of 3.0 or higher on a 4.0 GPA Scale at time of application submission.
  3. Applicant must submit an official academic transcript as supporting documentation.
  4. Applicant must provide their official score of the American College Testing (ACT) or Scholastic Assessment Test (SAT). Applicants already enrolled/attending at Alabama State University are exempted from this requirement.
  5. Applicant must provide two recommendation letters from their school academic counselor/advisor and instructors. Special Note: Recommendation letters are prohibited from family members and/or relatives.  
  6. Applicant must provide a wallet-size self-photo in business attire.
  7. Applicant must write a one-page essay (double spaced) on a pre-selected topic listed in the application.
  8. Application and all supporting documentation must be USPS Postmarked by 11:59 pm (Central Standard Time)
    Beginning January 1, 2025 – Friday, May 2, 2025. Late applications will NOT be accepted; NO EXCEPTIONS!

Mailing Address: 
          The Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Committee
                    P.O. Box 242831
                    Montgomery, AL 36117

eligibility requirements


The scholarship award amounts will be based on funds from donors and fundraisers in support of the annual scholarship award cycle.


The Legacy Of Dr. Ralph J. Bryson

Dr. Darold Boswell
Past Polemarch, Montgomery Alumni Chapter

Time – 3:26


The Legacy Of Dr. Ralph J. Bryson

Dr. John Knight
Former Alabama State Representative

Time – 2:48


The Legacy Of Dr. Ralph J. Bryson

Dr. James Oliver
Band Director at Alabama State University. 

Time – 2:40

Corporate and Business Sponsors

If your business or organization is interested in donating toward the Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Fund, please contact us directly, so we can acknowledge your contribution as a business on our website and in advertisements. 

Alumni Chapter
Kappa Alpha Psi
Fraternity, Inc.

Raised for academic scholarships to deserving students attending Alabama State University.

Next Financial Update – 7/06/24

Scholarships Awarded in 2024

4 ways to Donate

Thank you for your generous donations! The total will be updated weekly on this website. 
Scholarships will be awarded in May 2025.

The scholarship is funded by fundraiser events and donations from individuals, groups and corporations.
The scholarship fund has been established as a public charity by the IRS and all proceeds are 100% tax deductible.



For on-site donations, visit any Regions Bank Branch to deposit funds into the
Dr Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Fund Account.
Please email a copy of your deposit receipt to the Treasurer, Eddie Todd at Todd1943@bellsouth.net

Please make your check payable to the Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Fund and mail it to

P.O. Box 242831, Montgomery, AL 36124

Officers & Committee Members

This scholarship fund was established by the officers and committee members below.



Supporting Members

  • Ray Howard
  • Gerry Fairley
  • Erick Wright
  • Ervin Owes
  • Collis Ivery
  • Southern Lausane
  • J. Michael Gunn
  • Darren Dubose

Get in touch

For questions or comments about the Dr. Ralph J. Bryson Academic Scholarship Fund, please send correspondence to the address below, or contact us via the form. 

Write the committee